Summer in the City

When I was nineteen, I went to work in London for the summer. Having lived all my life up until then in a relatively small Irish town, the city was a massive change for me. At that time my entire country had a population of just over four million people; London, on the other hand, was home to nearly eight million. I remember coming out of Victoria Station on my own to see locals, tourists and red double-decker buses (such a cliché but true!) whizzing by. The distance from Dublin  to London is around 466 kilometres but I felt a million miles from home. It was the sixteenth of June and the city was hot, loud and crowded. I instantly fell in love with it.

I started at my new job the next day and I learned that I was to work weekdays but I had weekends off. So I quickly developed a routine where I worked Monday to Friday but every Saturday and Sunday, I would set out first thing in the morning to explore a different part of the city.

 I went shopping on Oxford Street, took in the views from Parliament Hill, people-watched in Trafalgar Square, trawled through Camden Market, peered at Buckingham Palace through its tall gates, visited an old friend in Watford, accidentally stumbled upon a Gay Pride street party in Soho, swung by Wimbledon, explored the East End and by the end of the summer; I still hadn’t seen half of what the United Kingdom’s capital had to offer.

It was pretty amazing, to say the least. I can’t believe it’s been four years since I was there. I think a return might be on the cards…


2 Comments on “Summer in the City”

  1. I spent two weeks in London over Christmas break and fell in love! The city is so impressive and it instantly takes your heart! After college I hope to go back even if just for a little while I love everything about that city. The history and people and culture is just to die for its something you don’t get in a small town in Kentucky.

  2. Alissa says:

    I spent a semester in London when I was 20 and it completely changed me! I haven’t been back in 6 years (it’s a considerably longer trip from Minneapolis than from Dublin!), but will always consider it a home away from home!


Leave a Reply

