Lemon and Cola Cupcakes

I never get tired of experimenting with cupcakes. It’s so easy to create something new and delicious every time, with the addition of a few choice ingredients to the basic mix. The possibilities are endless!  I have to confess though; as much as I adore the taste of something different and unique, I enjoy sweet simple flavours just as much.  So today, I decided to put the classic combination of lemon and cola in to cupcake form.

I made cola-flavoured cupcakes, covered them in a lemon buttercream icing and popped a fizzy cola-bottle sweet on each one. It was fun and quick to create, and they made a great Sunday afternoon treat.

There are tons of cola cake recipes online and many of them involve different methods and ingredients, so search around for the one that suits you best. Lemon buttercream icing is super simple to make. To cover 20 cupcakes, just whip together 3 ounces of butter, 6 ounces of sieved icing sugar, and the juice and zest of half a lemon. You could also try the cola cupcakes with lime or cherry icing, or even try lemon cupcakes with cola flavoured frosting and candied lemon slices on top. Like I said, the possibilities are endless!

6 Comments on “Lemon and Cola Cupcakes”

  1. Those cupcakes look amazing and adorable. I’m a huge huge huge cupcake fan, and these look great.

    $100 Shopbop GIVEAWAY

  2. Andrea says:

    Great idea! I haven’t made cupcakes yet but now I really want to.

    Come by and check out my blog, if you like it I would love it if you followed me.

    xo Andrea
    http://uskar-vor-inspire.blogspot.ca/

  3. friendlytm says:

    Thank you for visiting my food blog and liking one of the dishes. Yours are great!

  4. Meg says:

    My boyfriend is going to love these. I can’t wait to try them.

  5. Sze Ling says:

    I love Lemon + Cola. And this combo sounds yummy in cupcake form. :D

  6. Nici Roberson says:

    looks so yummy i want to eat my screen!!!!


Leave a Reply

