Atonement by Ian McEwan

I am currently in the process of re-reading Ian McEwan’s Atonement. I had almost forgotten how much I love this book.

It begins in the summer of 1935. When thirteen-year-old Briony Tallis witnesses a crime being committed, her imagination runs wild and she tells a lie. She is young and naïve, and does not really understand the seriousness of her action. She certainly does not expect the devastating consequences that this single lie will have for the people around her.

It’s difficult to say any more than that, without giving too much away. Atonement is a thoroughly intriguing story with some remarkable characters and unexpected twists. The book has been turned in to a film with a fantastic cast (James McAvoy, Keira Knightley, Saoirse Ronan…) but you should really try the novel first. From the very first page, you’re drawn in to this mysterious complex world that you’ll find hard to leave…

I can’t recommend it enough.

10 Comments on “Atonement by Ian McEwan”

  1. The finish of Atonement is also stunning. First of I didn’t really get the story: the consequences of Briony telling were incredible to me. But that’s McEwans style: dramatic writing. Have you read McEwan’s Saturday? If not, I cordially recommend it. Although the story is completely different, the style of writing and description is much the same.

  2. emeralds82 says:

    Believe it or Believe it not Sinead, I have twice taken that book out of the library but both times I failed to read the book. I don’t know why but alas it remains on my must read list. I would attempt a third time however the library has cruelly placed me on a months ban for being a week late returning said book! I mean really? Let me pay a fine, but banning me from the library…. it’s a deep burn!

    • Sinead says:

      Ha! If my library done that I’d never be allowed in, somehow my books are always overdue…well when you get back in your library’s good books (no pun intended) you should def try Atonement again. once you get in to it, you’ll love it!

  3. life/style/flash. says:

    Can you believe I’ve never read this OR seen the movie?

    Must be rectified immediately!

    Becky at life/style/flash. blog x

  4. PerfectlyRandom says:

    Great book – then ending completely shocked me as well. I remember reading this on a beach in Colombia – quite depressing reading for a supposed relaxing time!

  5. mylifeinrouge says:

    I have the kindle sample…. :)
    You should read Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon (if you haven’t already!)

    • Sinead says:

      I haven’t read it but I’ll definitely check it out, thanks! :-D

    • Fantastic book, Shadow of the Wind! El Juego Del Angel (I don’t know the English title) is another book written by Zafon, in the same kind of writing style. If you like Shadow of the Wind, which you probably will, then you can continue with this one, if you like.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 950 other followers